Surety Bonds:

- Must be submitted on the Mineral Mine Program approved form.
- All parties to the Surety must be licensed to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Certificate of Deposit:

- Must be submitted on the Mineral Mine Program approved form.
- Must be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, Mineral Mining Program.
- Must be automatically renewable.
- Must be from a bank located in the Commonwealth of Virginia or approved as a bank depository by the Virginia Department of Treasury.

Questions? Please contact our office:

Virginia Department of Energy Mineral Mining Program 900 Natural Resources Drive, Ste. 400 Charlottesville VA 22903 (434) 996-5910

MineralMiningInfo@dmme.virginia.gov.

Visit our website for additional information and training materials. <u>www.energy.virginia.gov/mineral-</u> mining/mineralmining.shtml



Permit/License Fees

Irrevocable Letter of Credit:

- Must be submitted on the Mineral Mine Program approved form.
- The letter of credit shall be irrevocable and unconditional, shall be paid to the division on demand.

Please contact the Mineral Mine Program with any questions concerning reclamation bonds. Depending on the type of bond you choose, the length of time to secure and have a bond approved can be longer than you think. Initiate the process in a timely manner to prevent any delays.

Department of Energy Mineral Mining Program 900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 400 Charlottesville, Va. 22903 Phone: 434-996-5910

New Permit/License:

Permit Fee

\$50/permitted acre

License Fee

\$330** (Except Sand & Gravel < 5 acres \$80**)

Bond

\$3000/acre to be disturbed **OR** \$50/acre to be disturbed if in Minerals Reclamation Fund***

Renewal Fees:

Renewal Fee

\$24/acre disturbed and to-be-disturbed in the next 12 months (July 1, 2022, forward)

License Fee

\$330** (Except Sand & Gravel < 5 acres \$80**)

Bond

\$3000/acre on additional areas to-be-disturbed in next 12 months **OR** \$12.50/acre disturbed and to-bedisturbed in next 12 months if in Minerals Reclamation Fund***

Adding of addition permitted acres shall be charged according to the New Permit/License fees.

Transfer Fees:

Permit Fee

\$24/acre disturbed (July 1, 2022 forward)

License Fee

\$330** (Except Sand & Gravel < 5 acres \$80**)

Bond

\$3000/acre disturbed **OR** \$12.50/acre disturbed if in Minerals Reclamation Fund***

*The Mineral Mining Program e-Form center calculates your fees for you. See page 4 of the DMM-170 Permit License Application, and select "Calculate Fees"

**By filing electronically using the Mineral Mining Program e-Forms Center, you are eligible for reduced license fees. If you choose to file in paper the fee is \$400 annually, except for sand & gravel <5 acres which is \$100.

***A Licensed Operator who has had 5 years of satisfactory operation under Chapter 12 of Title 45.2 of the Code of Virginia shall become a member of the Minerals Reclamation Fund. (45.2-1235) Until then, the amount of bond shall be \$3000 per initial acre. (45.2-1208).



RECLAMATION BONDS

Operators who are new to the Virginia Mineral Mining Industry and are not eligible to be bonded through the Minerals Reclamation Fund must submit a bond of \$3000/acre disturbed or to be disturbed over the next 12 months. There are several acceptable bond types:

- Surety Bond
- Certificate of Deposit
- Irrevocable Letter of Credit
- Cash



The Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia and the

Mineral Mine Reclamation Laws of Virginia establish

the fees required to obtain and maintain a mineral

mining permit and mineral mining license in Virginia.

The fees are used to administer the Virginia Mineral

Mining Program. Reclamation bonding is also required to be in place prior to the issuance of any permit.

FEES

Permit fees, license fees and appropriate reclamation bonds are required prior to the issuance of the permit/license.

Fees should be payable to "Treasurer of Virginia" and it is advisable to notate the permit number on your payment. Fees can be paid in cash, check, or with credit card.

You may use the Mineral Mining Program e-Forms Center to calculate your fees* or call the Charlottesville Office at 434-996-5910.

Save money!

File using <u>e-Forms Center</u>! **